Tredegar Orpheus Male Voice Choir |
Official website of Tredegar Orpheus Male Voice Choir
A History of Tredegar Orpheus Male Voice Choir by Alan James
Conductors 1909 - 2009
Page Updated: 8th May 2014   Revised: 5th July 2013    Text Copyright © Alan James 2010
John Davy Evans
resigned March 1934

25th April 1934
Abel Jones
resigned 12th August 1938

1st September 1938
William J Pearce
resigned ill health 24th April 1940

May 1st 1940
Len Pearce
resigned 3rd November 1942 (previously granted 3 months leave of absence due to duties as an officer in the Home Guard)

3rd November 1942 to June 1947
William J Buncombe

June 1947 to September 1949
John R Holmes-Lewis A.R.C.M.
left to work for the Liverpool Post

September 1949 to October 1950
Herbert Martin B.A. (hons music)

1950 to Oct 1957 (resigned) and 1962 to 1963
Edgar J Reynolds
resigned ill health

1957 to 1959
Archie Bevan

September 1960?
Alcwyn Savage

1961 to 1962
Cyril Blake
Emigrated to America to take up position in the United States Army as music tutor at the Marion Military Institute, Alabama, with the rank of Captain.

1963 to 1965
William Dyte

1965 to February 1983
Ieuan Davies M.B.E.
resigned ill health

April 1983 to 1986
Geraint Davies

Hazel Roberts

1986 to 1987
Barrie Owens

1987 to July 1988
Malcolm Burnell

September 1988 to 1991
David Clothier

Graham Davies

1991 to July 1993
Gareth Sims

August 1993 to Present
Ian Waite
The context of the above "A History of Tredegar Orpheus Male Voice Choir" is under copyright by Alan James (Secretary).
In This Section
At A Glance
Can You Help ?
Do you have any Orpheus Photos, Cuttings, Programs etc.? If so please get in touch via email or phone.
Our Address
Tredegar Orpheus Music Centre
Rawlinson Terrace,
Blaenau Gwent,
NP22 4LF
Content Copyright © 2017 Tredegar Orpheus Male Voice Choir.  Tredegar Orpheus is supported by
Copyright © 2017 Tredegar Orpheus Male Voice Choir ¦ Terms & Conditions