Tredegar Orpheus Male Voice Choir |
Official website of Tredegar Orpheus Male Voice Choir
A History of Tredegar Orpheus Male Voice Choir by Alan James
Officers, Committee and Members in 1947
Page Updated: 8th May 2014   Revised: 5th July 2013    Text Copyright © Alan James 2010
Officers & General Committee Names

Chairman: Mr Alf Clarke

Vice Chairman: Mr W T Davies

Treasurer: Mr Jack Howells

Mr J Williams
Mr George Hopkins

Registrar: Mr Tom Charles

Conductor: Mr John Holmes Lewis

Deputy Conductor: Mr Frank Jones

Secretary: Mr T H Morgan

Accompanist: Mr Allan Fletcher

General Committee
Mr William Greenland
Mr William Davies
Mr T Wathan
Mr H Williams
Mr W Jenkins
Mr David Llewellyn
Mr William Davies
Mr Ivor Jones
Mr David Morgan
Mr W J Harris
Mr S Thomas

Choir Committee
Mr William Vaughan
Mr Nick Rogers
Mr Arthur Bennett
Mr Sam Jones
Mr J Darnell
Mr A H Davies
Mr A Thomas
Mr William Ingles

Institute Committee
Mr E J Reynolds
Mr W S Phillips
Mr O Middleton
Mr G P Morgan

Choir Members as of January 1947

First Tenor Section
Mr Frank Jones
Mr William Vaughan
Mr David Childs
Mr R Miles
Mr A Hopkins
Mr E Harris
Mr Nick Rogers
Mr George Hayden
Mr G Tagg
Mr A Tagg
Mr R Evans
Mr Jack Bamfield
Mr David Jones
Mr G Kirk
Mr T Evans
Mr H Harris
Mr C White
Mr T Jenkins
Mr Llewellyn Evans
Mr Ivor Lloyd
Total 20

Second Tenor Section
Mr Sam Jones
Mr Edgar Holley
Mr E Brown
Mr T Morgan
Mr P Kelly
Mr E Matthews
Mr D Davies
Mr T Wyatt
Mr C Beynon
Mr I Evans
Mr A Bennett
Mr W H Millard
Mr Tom Parffitt
Total 13

First Bass Section
Mr Tom Atkinson
Mr Tom H Charles
Mr J Williams
Mr Reg Childs
Mr A H Davies
Mr Ivor Grenter
Mr Tom Miller
Mr David Prosser
Mr Horace Weech
Mr G Harding
Mr E Jones
Mr G Matthews
Mr H Nash
Mr Tom Green
Mr E Barnard
Mr H Clark
Mr J Darnell
Mr Glyn Charles
Total 18

Second Bass Section
Mr William Ingles
Mr A Thomas
Mr William Lewis
Mr S Toombs
Mr Islywn Morgan
Mr Jack Howells
Mr Ivor Evans
Mr G Morgan
Mr D W Evans
Mr S Davies
Mr George Beames
Mr E Morris
Mr J Evans
Mr S Evans
Mr Llewellyn Morgan
Mr J Price
Mr J Jenkins
Mr I Jenkins
Mr S G Harris
Mr O Evans
Total 20

Total members in Choir January 1947 = 71

The context of the above "A History of Tredegar Orpheus Male Voice Choir" is under copyright by Alan James (Secretary).
In This Section
At A Glance
Can You Help ?
Do you have any Orpheus Photos, Cuttings, Programs etc.? If so please get in touch via email or phone.
Our Address
Tredegar Orpheus Music Centre
Rawlinson Terrace,
Blaenau Gwent,
NP22 4LF
Content Copyright © 2017 Tredegar Orpheus Male Voice Choir.  Tredegar Orpheus is supported by
Copyright © 2017 Tredegar Orpheus Male Voice Choir ¦ Terms & Conditions